Latest information

TTTLeague report

With the cancellation of the ‘Circuit of the Dales’ being announced early, I was able to switch to the E-TA ‘EJS Madgett Memorial’ 25 and join 7 other riders on a gloriously bright, sunny morning.
With the breeze coming from the SW it was predicted to be harder going out with some assistance on the way back. However like all well laid plans the wind veered during the event to a more Southerly direction making for a more direct cross wind there by stealing the slight advantage from the return leg.  Unlike last year Chris Hutchinson & Marcus Hopkins (1st ride since his accident the week before last years event) both lined up.
Martin Badham led us off followed by Ian Mackenzie, next up was Peter Holland sounding much improved from his illness during the week & wearing extra layers to keep his chest warm. Next came Gary Guntrip sporting a new electronic gear system and a borrowed helmet!  Then it was my turn followed by Chris Hutchinson, next was a rather nervous Marcus Hopkins and last trike looking to sweep up the whole field on his ride to the chequered flag was Andy Newham. Andy powered round the course passing the finish timekeeper first in 1hr 7mins 30sec with me just 9sec later. Then came Chris, happy his knee had held up, next came Marcus gaining confidence all the way round, Gary was next having miss-shifted a few times but generally happy with the set-up.
Ian arrived next with another stalwart ride, followed by Peter still below par but finishing anyway and the lantern rouge today Martin Badham.
Two weeks on and a warm sunny morning greeted us as we gathered at Chilham for the Bill Finch memorial 25. The start sheet listed 9 riders but Alan Nye sent his apologies for not starting and Richard Bailey, sans cycling shoes, swapped from riding to pushing off, in the process losing a minimum of 23 points.
Leading off from the time keeper was Trevor Oliver followed @ 2 minute intervals by Peter Holland, Mark Vowells, mounted on a refurbished ex Chris Hutchinson Roberts tricycle, Gary Guntrip, Ian Mackenzie, Chris Hutchinson & 4 minutes later due to Richards failure to start, I departed. First rider back to the timekeeper was Mark, having mastered his new mount superbly to post the fastest ride of the day.
Next home was Chris followed by Gary with me in hot persuit 13 seconds later, then came Peter followed by Ian and then Trevor, this weeks Lantern Rouge collecting 24 points in the process.
That concludes the early events with the next counting event being the NE- FB Wood 25 on the V134 on Saturday 18th June.

The league standings so far after 4 events are as follows
Les Young            117
Gary Guntrip         107
Peter Holland         75
Chris Hutchinson  56
Ian Mackenzie        51
John Thompson    30
Andy Newham        30
Mark Vowells          30
Mark Silver              29
Michael Gelder       28
Geoff Booker          28
Marcus Hopkins    27
Jim Montgomerie 26
Richard Bailey        26 (could be atleast 49)
Adrian Hills             24
Trevor Oliver            24
Martin Badham      23

We are now 1/3 of the way through the events with 4 different winners, and with 17 individual riders 1/3 of the way to 50 scoring riders. Come and join in with points available to 30th place, its easy to score. Enter, Ride, Finish and you score points.


2 Comments on TTTLeague report

  1. Chris Hutchinson // June 14, 2016 at 10:39 pm // Reply

    Hi Lez,

    Where do we find a list of this years TT League counting events?


    • Martin Badham // June 15, 2016 at 8:37 am // Reply

      Hi Chris, On the Time Trial League page, under Activities, click on “Click here for This Seasons Coming Events” and the calendar entries will appear.

Leave a Reply to Chris Hutchinson Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.