Latest information

Criterium League

National Tricycle Criterium League

Click here for This Seasons Coming Events

For other events navigate using the “<” and “>” buttons.

The event details can all be found on the BHPC website Results are posted on the BHPC website so your result will be taken from there. Geoff Booker will collate the T.A. league for 2015.

Barry and pack - cropped

Photo supplied by Bob Nolan, fearlessly snapping in the face of oncoming barrows.


The Rules for the Tricycle Criterium League:

1. Only fully paid up members of the Tricycle Association are eligible to qualify for the League.
2. Events to qualify must be held under British Cycling Rules and open to tricyclists only.
3. At least four TA entries to constitute an event.
4. The League to be decided on a rider’s best five performances in a season. Method of scoring being 10 point first position; 9 points second position; 8 points third and so on up to ninth place after which all finishers will receive 1 point. In allocating points finishing positions of non TA members will be ignored. Counting events are shown in green where riders have competed in more than 5 events.

The Tricycle Criterium League Organizer will be responsible for collecting and collating the event results, maintaining a updated list of qualifiers and positions throughout the season and providing a final list of qualifiers and positions so that any necessary trophies and certificates can be awarded at the Annual Dinner and Reunion in October of each year

When confirmed, the counting events for 2013 will be listed in the Gazette and on the TA website.

Click on the date of the event you are interested in for further details. Contact Geoff Booker 01844 if you have any queries.

Tricycle Criterium League 2015

This season, the league will again be run using the British Human Power Club (BHPC) schedule of events. These are held all round the country so most people will have the opportunity to have a go somewhere.
They are held on close circuits which all vary in length and flatness. There is one event on an outdoor velodrome at Scunthorpe.
Races seem to last about 45 minutes to an hour.
Everyone is friendly and their machines are quite interesting to look at if you get time to look around.
The quicker fully faired machines could be reaching speeds of around 40 MPH. Quite amazing to watch.
There are 15 events in all including our own event, The International Challenge at Fowlmead.
The first BHPC event is at Hillingdon Circuit on April 7th and unfortunately clashes with the Circuit of the dales.

The Betty Covington Trophy will be awarded to the leading member of the Tricycle Association in the Fowlmead event on the 2nd June. In the event of an overseas member winning it, it will be held in the UK on their behalf.

How the BHPC racing works

No Licence or membership is required. So it is cheap to enter. Most events cost around £10 or £12 Just turn up at the venue and sign on for the race. Sometimes there are two races that you can enter, in which case the T.A. League result will be on the first race only. You can do the second for fun! If enough racers are in attendance there will be an event for the faster riders and one for the slower. ENTER the SLOWER section. Or you will get eaten alive! You will be racing with all manner of machines, but don’t worry, the field will soon thin out. You will be given a race number but not a body number. This you have to provide. You will keep the same number for three years. Your race number needs to be fitted so that the lap scorers can see it. AT THE FRONT of your machine. You can stick it on your helmet or your arm if you wish, but make sure it can be seen. So take along something to write the number on and a way of displaying it. Keep it for the next event. The scoring for the T.A League will be as per the existing rules with the following alterations. The races will not be run by British Cycling under their rules. There is no minimum number of tricycle riders required. If you are the only upright trike in the event you get maximum points.

Criterium League Results 2017:

1st Geoff Booker 46 points 5 events Ken Jiggens Trophy

2nd Sid Charlton 17 points 2 events

3rd Peter Bridge 15 points 2 events

4th Mark Silver 10 points 1 event

4th Ian Pike 10 points 1 Event

4th Gary Wright 10 points 1 Event

5th Lez Young 7 points 1 Event

The Betty Covington Trophy was not won this season as no one rode the nominated event

Calendar Notes

For Diary Dates beyond those displayed, in the past or future, click on 'View Calendar', then Events can be filtered according the Category. These accumulate so one can filter for South Western Time Trials by choosing 'South West Event' and 'Time Trial' but remember to close filters down by choosing the Filter again before another filter. Dates in the Past or Future can be accessed by clicking on the '<' or '>' either side of the Month display.